Spoon HQ

Monday, June 07, 2010

Easy Tasty Italian Nominated for Guild of Food Writers Best First Book Award

On Thursday 17 June, the Guild of Food Writers Awards will be announced at London's Design Museum, and we are delighted to announce that our very own Laura Santtini has been nominated for the Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book.

The Award was won in 2009 by Riverford's Guy Watson and Jane Baxter and has previously been won by Rowley Leigh and Vicky Bhogal.

The shortlist for the Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book;

Easy Tasty Italian by Laura Santtini (published by Quadrille)

Cuisinier Gascon: Meals from a Gascon Chef by Pascal Aussignac (published by Absolute Press)

Seasonal Spanish Food by José Pizarro with Vicky Bennison (published by Kyle Cathie)

There are twelve categories, each judged by a panel of five judges, with stringent criteria that reflect the Guild’s own very high standards. On the shortlists are some well known names such as Darina Allen, Tom Parker Bowles, Nigel Slater and Phil Vickery and some new names including Gaitri Pagrach-Chandra and our very own Laura Santtini.


The Guild of Food Writers Awards were established in 1996, to be presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement in any area in which food writers work and have influence. The awards are the only ones judged entirely by professional food writers, journalists and editors. There are twelve awards; the full list of categories is:

The Cookery Book of the Year Award

The Derek Cooper Award for Campaigning and Investigative Food Writing or Broadcasting

The Evelyn Rose Award for Cookery Journalist of the Year

The Food Book of the Year Award

The Food Broadcast of the Year Award

The Food Journalist of the Year Award

The Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book

The Kate Whiteman Award for Work on Food and Travel

The Michael Smith Award for Work on British Food

The Miriam Polunin Award for Work on Healthy Eating

The New Media of the Year Award

The Restaurant Reviewer of the Year Award



Post a Comment

<< Home